Creatures: stuffed and small.

I found this great vintage Simplicity pattern for little stuffed animals, and decided to make one my niece’s birthday.  I picked the camel because its cute and easy for one year old hands to hold.  I made her older brother one too. (So he won’t steal hers!)   They were pretty easy to cut out and sew together, but  I will admit that the turning and stuffing were a bit  painstaking at times.  I am also guilty of not being very good at embroidery.  Those eyes I did are a bit wonky.

When I was cleaning up the scraps of fabric, I unfolded one and saw the cutest little alien monster, just waiting to be made.  So I also created Creature, the friendly alien monster.  I used felt bits for the detail work and just made it up as I went along.  It was hard to decide where his eyes should be and I’m not sure if thats a mouth or a nose.  I also added a bum for fun.  He turned out pretty well though.  I plan on making a series of creatures now.  I’ll have to come up with some good names for them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

