Handmade Rug by Me!

So, I’ve been really bad at blogging lately.  There’s been a lot of new changes going on in my world.  In addition to having an online vintage store and an Etsy store for my own creations, I have also been creating for a someone new.  And that new person will have a cute nursery room in our house that we’ve been setting up just for her.  Being a crafty person, I wanted her nursery to have pieces in it that I made myself just for her.   I thought I would start with something that was a bit funky but simple and functional.

So my first project was crocheting a rug out of strips of t-shirts.  I had been collecting t-shirts to make a rug for a couple of years, but never got around to it.  Needing a rug for the nursery inspired me to get cracking on it.

It ended up taking 15 t-shirts and about 10 more t-shirt pieces that I had cut up for other projects, but my rug is done!  I crocheted it in what was supposed to be an oval but ended up more round.   It took about 3 weeks of my free time, and I love it!

I admit that it’s a bit lumpy, and curled up on the ends at first, so I sprayed it with a water bottle and used heavy books wrapped in plastic bags to weight it down for about a week.  Now, it’s a bit of bright fun in the room and goes great with our turquoise walls and white crib!

If you would like to try your own “rag” rug from t-shirts, the tutorial I used is found here at www.craftystylish.com.

The finished look:
 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

